The Moments that Shape Us

It’s crazy how old sayings can apply to everyday life.

“One bad apple spoils the bunch.”

‘Don’t judge a book by its cover.”

“Life is funny, so smile while you still have teeth.”

 

Ok, that last one isn’t as serious, but it still applies. The saying of the day to me is “Don’t judge a person until you’ve walked a mile in their shoes.”

Many of us struggle with the same problems, and we all try to deal with them in different, but similar ways. How we deal with these problems relies heavily on our past. Our past, no matter how much we may like or dislike it, shapes the person we become.

So when I hear people say “it’s easy, just do this” to solve a problem, it bothers me.

My story is not your story. We may have gone through similar situations, but we are two different people. More than likely, we handle our lives differently. We handle our problems, differently.

The reason I wanted to write about this is because lately I have been criticized about worrying too much. Now I realize the people who tell me this are just trying to help, but when you’ve had a past like mine, worrying is a normal response. In fact, it’s the natural response.

I’m not going to sit here behind a keyboard and pretend I’m the only one who has been through crap in there lives, that I had the worst childhood in history. There are obviously people who are off a lot worse than me.

My point in this writing is that not everyone handles the same situations the same. It’s not as easy to move on for some than others.

Get to know someone’s story before giving advice. Understand where they are coming from. Understand why they feel the way they do.  Then try to help them based off that.

Nothing can set a person more off course than good advice at the wrong time.

Leave a Reply

